July 2017 Archives

contextual image

Drunk driver may face homicide charges

Many Floridians consume alcohol and then operate a motor vehicle. That choice is seen by a few as low risk because the penalties for drunk driving may not seem overly harsh. (The penalty for a first DUI/DWI offense is a fine of not less than $500 and probation and incarceration for no more than one year.) This calculation can be ruined, however, if a drunk driver has an accident resulting in death or serious bodily injury. A resident of Plant City learned this lesson on the Fourth of July weekend.

Bradenton woman charged with manslaughter in fatal crash

Florida laws make drunk driving a serious crime. If alcohol is involved in an accident, and if injury or death occurs, the penalties are extremely harsh. A Bradenton woman now faces several criminal charges, including homicide, stemming from an accident that killed one of her passengers, a 29-year old man from Sarasota.

Writing a Florida joint parenting plan

Divorcing couples in Florida who have minor children are required by statute to prepare and submit to the court a document called a "joint parenting plan." The plan is generally intended to resolve issues regarding physical custody, visitation and parent relocation. The court has the power to revise or reject the proposed plan. Obviously, preparation of a joint parenting plan is easier if each spouse can put aside any anger or hostility toward the other spouse and concentrate on the interests of the children.

How can we help?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

FindLaw Network